Ontario Honours Four UCPR Paramedics

On May 27, 2024, the Province of Ontario presented Ontario Medals for Paramedic Bravery to four members of the Emergency Services team of the United Counties of Prescott and Russell (the “UCPR”): Advanced Care Paramedics, Yan Bellefeuille and Jean-François Fillion, and Primary Care Paramedics, Stéphane Huppé and Christian Larochelle.

The ceremony, which closed Paramedic Services Week, paid tribute to Paramedics who have demonstrated great courage risking their lives to save the lives of others. The Honourable Edith Dumont, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, and Sylvia Jones, Deputy Premier and Minister of Health, presented the medals.

In May 2023, Mr. Bellefeuille, Mr. Fillion, Mr. Huppé, and Mr. Larochelle responded to a 9-1-1 call and provided life-saving care to two Police Officers, despite the dangerous situation and a possible suspect on the scene.

“Our Paramedics respond to a wide range of medical emergencies. Every day, they act with composure and altruism. They work closely together to provide the best care as quickly as possible. We are very proud of our team's accomplishments,” said Mr. Marc-André Périard, Director of the UCPR’s Emergency Services.

“Congratulations to our four Paramedics. The medal they received is a testament to their courage and heroism. The United Counties of Prescott and Russell can count on a team of seasoned Paramedics who are dedicated to the well-being of our community. Our warmest thanks to them,” added Mr. Normand Riopel, Interim Warden of the UCPR.

To learn more about the Ontario Medal for Paramedic Bravery recipients, visit the Government of Ontario’s website.

Posted on 05/29/2024
A team of Paramedics from the United Counties of Prescott and Russell, four of whom are holding framed certificates. They stand in front of Canadian and Ontario flags.