Provincial Offences


The Provincial Offences Office of the United Counties of Prescott and Russell is responsible for collecting all fines issued on its territory by the different government organizations within Ontario such as the Ontario Provincial Police, the municipalities, and the Ministries.

How to reach us

Consult the Corporate Directory.

What is a Provincial Offence?

A provincial offence is a charge relating to a failure to comply with certain provincial or municipal laws and By-laws under the Provincial Offences Act.

Examples of laws and by-laws under provincial offences:

  • Highway Traffic Act: higher speeds, careless driving, or failing to wear a seatbelt.
  • Compulsory Automobile Insurance Act: failing to surrender an insurance card, being in possession of a counterfeit or invalid insurance card.
  • Liquor License Act: being intoxicated in a public place or selling alcohol to a minor.
  • Trespass to Property Actentering premises when entry is prohibited or failing to leave the premises after being directed to do so.
  • Municipal By-laws: infractions under the parking or noise by-law in one of the eight local municipalities of the United Counties of Prescott and Russell.

Who can issue a certificate of offence?

Several organizations are in charge of the administration of the laws on the United Counties of Prescott and Russell territory. These organizations have the power to issue fines laws under the Provincial Offences Act.

Some examples of organizations are: