Provincial Offences

Provincial Offences Office

The Provincial Offences office of The United Counties of Prescott and Russell is responsible for collecting all fines issued, on its territory, by the different government organizations within Ontario.

The Provincial Offences Office also collects most certificates of offence issued by the Ontario Provincial Police and municipalities within the Prescott & Russell jurisdiction.

What is a Provincial Offence?

A provincial offence is a failure to follow certain provincial or municipal laws and by-laws under the Provincial Offences Act.

Examples of laws and by-laws under provincial offences:

  • Highway Traffic Actsuch as higher speeds, careless driving or failing to wear seatbelt.
  • Compulsory Automobile Insurance Actsuch as failing to surrender an insurance card, or being in possession of a counterfeit or invalid insurance card.
  • Liquor License Actsuch as being intoxicated in a public place, or selling alcohol to a minor.
  • Trespass to Property Actsuch as entering premises when entry is prohibited or failing to leave the premises after being directed to do so.

Municipal by-laws - such as infractions under the parking or noise by-law in one of the eight municipalities of Prescott and Russell.

Who can issue a certificate of offence?

Several organizations are in charge of the administration of the laws on the United Counties of Prescott and Russell territory. These organizations have the power to issue fines and/or enforce laws under the Provincial Offences Act:

  • Ontario Provincial Police
  • Municipal Law Enforcement Officers
  • Ministry of Transportation
  • Ministry of the Environment
  • Ministry of Labour
  • Ministry of Natural Resources
  • Ministry of Health
  • Ministry of Finance
  • Ministry of Agriculture
  • Workplace Safety and Insurance Board
  • Provincial Offences

Provincial Offences

28 Court Street, P.O. Box 347, L'Orignal, Ontario K0B 1K0
613-675-4661 or 1-800-667-6307 ext. 2700