Discover Prescott and Russell

Last item for navigation

Discover Prescott and Russell

The United Counties of Prescott & Russell is the soul of eight municipalities, each one with unique characteristics. Serving East Hawkesbury, Hawkesbury, Champlain, Alfred and Plantagenet, The Nation, Casselman, Russell, and Clarence-Rockland, the United Counties of Prescott and Russell acts as an upper-tier municipality with the responsibility of supporting regional interests and providing residents with an unparalleled quality of life.

The Corporation of the United Counties of Prescott and Russell was founded in 1820. This historic event also marked the arrival of French settlers in the region. Their presence has since continued to grow, to such a point that French-speaking residents today represent two-thirds of the 89 333 residents.

Located between the City of Ottawa to the west and the Quebec border to the east, the Prescott and Russell region covers a territory of 2,002 square kilometers. To the south, the region is bordered by the United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry, and to the north, by the historic Ottawa River.

A welcoming region, Prescott and Russell brims with cultural and natural attractions. Its touristic attractions, numerous festivals, impressive art scene and breathtaking scenery capture the interest of numerous visitors.

Each of the eight municipalities features its own personality. Some are predominantly urban and are focused on business, industry and services, while on the other hand, agriculture is omnipresent in the more rural municipalities. Whether seeking new business opportunities, an ideal region to raise a family, or a peaceful retreat in the countryside, Prescott and Russell is a community that caters to one's needs.